• {tag}
  • {/exp:tag:tags}

Prayer Timings

The Holy Qur'an mentions that there are only two obligatory prayers. (Surah Bani Isra’il (Q 17) mentions the Morning, dalūk al-shams and the tahajjud prayer. It also explains that tahajjud is a nafl (supererogatory). This means only two prayers are obligatory. Similarly Surah Hūd (Q 11) mentions tarafi al-nahaar and Surah Ṭāhā (Q 20) uses the words ānā'a al-layl.)

However, the ahādith tell us that the Holy Prophet (sws) has commanded the believers to pray five times a day. Is it possible that the Prophet (sws) contradicts the commands of the Book of God and gives a different command?
Read More