Carmine

I have a query regarding an ingredient called, Carmine/Red lake 4/E 120/Cl 75470 status, as to whether it is halaal or haraam.

This constituent is extracted from a dead insect, cochineal bug. It is present in many items containing red food coloring to makeup brands many which bear the label "no animal ingredients". I found out that even many strawberry flavored products like yoghurts contained it.
Kindly, Clear the status of this ingredient so that I and the Muslims know whether to avoid it or not.

Read More