Flesh Of Animals Slaughters After Stunning

My question is about the meat that is slaughterd and sold as ḥalāl meat here in Sweden. The animals have to be stunned with a boltgun that is put to the animals temple (the head) and then shot and may very well kill the animal becuse its a hard blow to the head before it is slaughterd. Now my question is even if it is sold as ḥalāl is it really ḥalāl. If not can I eat meat that isn’t ḥalāl because I don’t have a soice like chiken or lamb.

Read More

Chicken In The Western Societies

I am serving in Pakistan Navy as Lieut Commander. Presently I am undergoing a training Course in Canada. I want to know about eating of chicken and lamb which is available in market or in our officer's mess. Please indicate under the light of Qur’an and Sunnah if it is ḥarām or ḥalāl. I am really worried aboout that.

Read More

Kosher

Is it allowed for Muslims to use Kosher meat? Second query is about the fast food service of McDonald Burgers and Burger King series of restaurants who are American based restaurants but they are also selling their food products in Pakistan and other Islamic countries. Do you know what type of meat they are providing? I am in Germany, and we Muslims do not take any meat item from such places.

Read More

Selling Pork And Non-Zabiha Meat

Are we allowed to sell Non-Zabiha meat including pork? I am trying to open a restaurant in which there will be Non-Zabiha chicken and meat, may be pig too. I am not sure of the legality of the act. Please confirm if this is halal.

Read More

Pork Being Forbidden In Christianity

A friend of mine says pork was prohibited in the Old Testament, but keep reading, changes happen in new Testament.

God gave Peter a vision in which He declared all formerly unclean animals clean (Acts 10:15)

Read More

Vegetarianism

Can a Muslim be a vegetarian?

Read More

Stunning Before Slaughtering

I live in Canada, where there are many ways to slaughter an animal here.

1. Some halal distributors use an automated process for slaughtering chicken. The process is as follows. First chicken is stunned but however still alive (this is a Canadian law and there is no way around it) b. Second chicken process through a conveyor belt where a circular knife cuts its neck partially, meaning only cutting the jugular vein. As slaughtering is in process and tape recorder is constantly reciting takbeer. Is this meat halal?

2. Almost all non-halal distributors use the same process as above for slaughtering chicken minus the recitation of takbeer.

3. I have hindu friends from Pakistan and India both. My Pakistani hindu friend always buys halal meat from the local grocery shop. I know this for the fact, am I allowed to eat the food he offers me. Why is this meat not halal on us, I have seen in Pakistan that majority of people slaughtering chicken in Pakistan don’t even say takbeer and sometimes they will be cursing at the street peddlers while cutting the chickens neck. Please kindly tell me the reasoning behind it. Also in today’s world it is not feasible to use a non-automated process to slaughter animal. Also the whole intent of these slaughtering plants is to kill the chicken so they are eaten by human beings.

Read More

Regarding Eatables

I appreciate your answers very much. Presently I have some practical questions and need their answers. We live in UK and here all the eatables contain some gelatine (wheat /pork/beef/meat) in them. Examples of such food include ice-cream, biscuits, medicine etc. My questions in this regard follow:


1) If we don’t know whether the ice-cream has gelatin or not what should we do? Sometimes the management also does not know about them.
2) My wife bought medicine for lactation for my two months old son. We came to know that the shell of cod liver oil tablets contains gelatin in the ingredient. What should we do now? Origin of Gelatin is not mentioned.
3) What about Mcdonald's fish Burger? Can we eat that or not?
Read More

Cannibalism

I would be grateful if you could enlighten us on the subject of cannibalism and Islam.

Read More

Permissibility Of Eating Chicken From Non-Halal Restaurants

I live in Pittsburgh, USA with my family. My question is regarding the permissibility of eating chicken from non-halal restaurants here. There is a severe shortfall of halal-restaurants here in Pittsburgh. Most of the Muslim community generally does not mind eating chicken from places like McDonalds which are not halal. The Imam at our local mosque claims that since chicken is not a haram item, you are allowed to eat it from all restaurants. The only alternative we have is having fish or vegetable everyday which is hard to do considering that the items available are very limited. I cannot even take food every day from home since my mother is not well enough to arrange packed meals for me every day. Please advise, is chicken permissible given the context of non-availability of halal food and limited availability of vegetables and fish items?

Read More

Problems In Obtaining Halal Food

I live in Pittsburgh, USA with my family. My question is regarding the permissibility of eating chicken from non-halal restaurants here. There is a severe shortfall of halal-restaurants here in Pittsburgh. Most of the Muslim community generally does not mind eating chicken from places like McDonalds which are not halal. The Imam at our local mosque claims that since chicken is not a haram item, you are allowed to eat it from all restaurants. The only alternative we have is having fish or vegetable everyday which is hard to do considering that the items available are very limited. I cannot even take food everyday from home since my mother is not well enough to arrange packed meals for me everyday. Is chicken permissible in case of non-availability of halal food and limited availability of vegetables and fish items?

Read More

Eating Flesh Of Animals Slaughtered By The People Of The Book

According to your view the Christians of today have abandoned the ritual slaughter but I found that even today the Christians in Ethiopia adhere to the mosaic law of slaughter ( The food taboos found in the Old Testament are observed by most people as the Ethiopian Orthodox Church prescribes them. The flesh of animals with uncloven hoofs and those that do not chew their cud are avoided as unclean. It is nearly impossible to get pork. Animals used for food must be slaughtered with the head turned toward the east while the throat is cut: "In the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Ghost" if the slaughterer is Christian or "In the name of Allah the Merciful" if the slaughterer is Muslim.) This article I found on the page http://www.everyculture.com/Cr-Ga/Ethiopia.html. The Christians that adhere to the Mosaic Law in Ethiopia pronounce the name of The Father the son and the Holy Ghost. So my question is can we eat that meat and if not why? If yes then why do we allow a believer to eat the meat of their slaughtered animal when they do not only pronounce the name of Allah but add the name of the son and the Holy Ghost? We see the same critic in the Qur'an: They do blaspheme who say: God is one of three in a Trinity: for there is no god except One God. If they desist not from their word (of blasphemy), verily a grievous penalty will befall the blasphemers among them. (Surah 5:72-3)

Read More

Non-Zabeeha Meat

I live in Memphis, USA. I wanted to ask Mr.Ghamdi about the issue of non-zabiha meat (meat that has not been slaughtered according to Islamic tradition). Is it permissible to eat non-zabiha meat? I ask this question in light of two verses of the Qur'an that in my limited knowledge point me in opposite directions. One talks about how the food of Ahl-e-Kitab has been permitted while the other talks about abstaining from food on which Allah's name has not been pronounced. Kindly advise me in this regard.

Read More

Concerns About Food Offered By A Host

I follow the opinion that we can only eat the food if Allah's name has been invoked upon it (along with other necessary conditions), even if its sacrificed by Muslims, Christians or Jews. Is that correct? Considering the opinion I hold, my question is regarding eating food at some of our Muslim brothers' homes. We come across different situation in western countries that I am mentioning below.

1. We know about one of our Muslim brothers that he doesn't strictly care about the halal and haram food. If he invites us for a dinner, should we specifically ask him whether the food is halal or not, and refuse to eat if its not (this is what I think I should do). Or can we have a positive-thinking about our Muslim brother that he would have arranged halal food for us.

2. We know about one of our Muslim brothers that he considers the food of all the people of book as Halal (even without invoking Allah's name). What should be our approach in this situation. I have read that in case of difference of opinions in fiqh between Muslims, we should respect and follow the opinion of our Muslim brother who is hosting us. Does that apply in this situation too, such that we may respect and follow his opinion when we are at his home, and eat the food without hesitation (this is what I currently think I should do)?

Read More

Meat Of The Animals Slaughtered By Non-Muslim

I have been living in the U.S for over 20 years and have been fighting this war of "Zabiha Meat” with lot of people. My question is that can I buy beef, for example, from average market which was never prepared or prayed upon by Muslim slaughter way? People argue that in Al-An’am it clearly says: Eat not of (meat) on which Allah's name hath not been pronounced: That would be impiety. But the evil ones ever inspire their friends to contend with you if you were to obey them, you would indeed be Pagans." (Q. 6:121) Therefore, meat has to be prayed upon by Muslim with Allah's name before it can be eaten by Muslim.

Read More

Halal Or Haram Ingredients

My question relates to the food ingredients. I am in the United States and the people in this area use the meat which is not slaughtered and cannot be called zabiha according to Islam. Now if you check different Islamic websites they have lot of different views about products and they emphasize you to know the source. If you are buying the product in the market and you see the label, you are unable to find out the source. Now you can either ask the store associate, who in most cases don't know or you can call the company which is lot of hustle and time consuming. Then these different ulemas have made it very difficult. Take gelatin for example. They say it comes from pork or vegetable. If the gelatin is mentioned in the product how can we find it out? They say check U.D label which is supposed to contain some haram ingredients. You can't even toothpaste without looking at its label. My question is that do we really have to go through this or just go with big things like the things you know about pork only? Or we really have to go through the source before eating and how is it possible to make it simpler and easier?

Read More

Significance Of Slaughtering In The Prescribed Way

I live in the US. My question is about halal meat and halal meals in the country. I have researched the slaughter houses both Islamic and non-Islamic. In both animals were bled from the neck, hung upside down, the only difference was that a recording of holy Qur’an was played in the background in Islamic slaughter houses.

So if healthwise both are same can we use regular halal category of meat by saying Allah’s name on it before cooking? There is also availability of organic high quality meats but we are confused about consuming them? When I read in Qur’an 5:3, 5:5, 2:173, 6:145, and 6:115 it appeared that we can eat after saying Allah’s name on it. This is also supported by the hadith where the Prophet (sws) allowed consumption of eatables from non-Muslims after saying Allah’s name on it. Please comment.

Read More

Eating Flesh Of Animals Feeding On Haram

If the feed of a halal animals (cow, goat etc.) comprises haram ingredients; does it make the animal haram?

Read More

Distributing Meat Of Offerings

1. Can we distribute all of the meat of the offerings to the poor, not keeping anything for ourselves and relatives? I mean is it alright if all of the meat is distributed to those who deserve irrespective of if they are relatives or strangers? 2. Can we distribute the meat of the sacrifice to non-Muslims and non-believers who are poor and deserving? 3. Is there any religious ruling that we have to give preference to Muslims over non-Muslims when distributing the meat? 4. If there are two persons equally deserving, one is Muslim and other is non Muslim, who should we give meat to? Please provide answers for all questions separately.

Read More

Fasting After Eid Prayer Till Offering The Sacrifice

It is said that one should remain fasting after Eid al-Azha congregation and should do iftaar with the meat of the offered animal. Please comment.

Read More