Carmine

I have a query regarding an ingredient called, Carmine/Red lake 4/E 120/Cl 75470 status, as to whether it is halaal or haraam.

This constituent is extracted from a dead insect, cochineal bug. It is present in many items containing red food coloring to makeup brands many which bear the label "no animal ingredients". I found out that even many strawberry flavored products like yoghurts contained it.
Kindly, Clear the status of this ingredient so that I and the Muslims know whether to avoid it or not.

Answer:

It is not possible for us to declare insects haram as there is no basis for this conclusion. It is also not obligatory to consume every living thing after slaughtering it. Locusts are not slaughtered but consumed. Therefore, it would not be safe to declare the use and consumption of Carmine.



Read More

Food Prepared In The Name Of Other Than God

There are food items other than flesh of animals. Some people cook such food and give it away while they do not invoke Allah’s name on it but invoke some other entity like a Prophet or a saint. Can we eat such food? Or it is ḥarām for us to eat when offered by any?

Answer:

We eat all edibles after invoking Allah’s name. Usually we use bismillah for the purpose. As for invoking Allah’s name while slaughtering that is another issue. This does not apply to other edibles like rice, vegetables etc. However, if someone invokes a name other than Allah in such a way that he ascribes the blessing to other than God, he commits polytheism. His sin is graver than merely eating a haram thing. However, it does…

Read More

Different Questions About Shari’ah Compliant Slaughtering

My Questions:

If someone is doing Zabiha all day like a butcher - does he require to do tasmia by saying some words every time - if yes Why? Or having that concept in mind is enough every time he is doing that? After all that is his job especially when he is hired in a Halal meet section of a Canadian meet company.

What is wrong with saying Allah-akbar on an automated slaughter process where the chickens are slaughtered one by one tied upside down on a belt? No one is touching the animal or wrestling with them to slaughter them or using knife by hand.

What is wrong with shooting them and do the Tasmia before that and make sure tazkya is also done using modern techniques?

What is wrong with recorded Allah-akbar while doing zabiha - this is an arrangement made specifically for Muslims by Muslims establishing a concept of permission from Allah to slaughter the animal - why a live human voice is necessary for each and individual animal?

Moreover why not a Muslim can buy number of animals and before giving all of them to a slaughter machines do tasmya for all of them that all these animals are going to be slaughtered because Almighty has given me permission to do so, else I have no authority/right to take these lives.

Questions about ingredients of non-meet items such as bakery and cheese products:

How far should we go to investigate the ingredients and the source of that (in North America)?

We never do this in Pakistan, there are hundred and thousands of items that are imported in Pakistan including meet products and have the same ingredients and same sources. List of a common Haram Ingredients are as follows.

Please also have a discussion with specialized chemist / industrial chemists / applied chemists. Some have the opinion that when these ingredients are made for industrial purpose (large production) they are produced 1) artificially 2) using small quantity of animal product and then make large quantity from it chemically to use in industrial process 3) some products (such as Alcohol) lose the original properties and convert into something else after production is complete. However it is not easy for a non-technical person to know/understand theses chemical changes.

Answer:

Some of the questions are Ijtihadi issues and therefore the answer may differ based on individual opinions. I provide answers based on my own understanding which is based on the same approach that Mr. Ghamidi is promoting:

1. If someone is doing Zabiha all day like a butcher - does he require to do tasmia by saying some words every time - if yes Why? or having that concept in mind is enough every time he…

Read More

Flesh Of Animals Slaughters After Stunning

My question is about the meat that is slaughterd and sold as ḥalāl meat here in Sweden. The animals have to be stunned with a boltgun that is put to the animals temple (the head) and then shot and may very well kill the animal becuse its a hard blow to the head before it is slaughterd. Now my question is even if it is sold as ḥalāl is it really ḥalāl. If not can I eat meat that isn’t ḥalāl because I don’t have a soice like chiken or lamb.

Answer:

If you are sure that a meat has not been prepared according to the rules of Sharī'ah then you should not consume it unless not consuming it means you will be starved.

However, when you see a meat in the Muslim market that is sold as ḥalāl meat, it is not your duty to do research and get to the bottom of it.You can trust your Muslim brothers and consume that meat even if you are…

Read More

Chicken In The Western Societies

I am serving in Pakistan Navy as Lieut Commander. Presently I am undergoing a training Course in Canada. I want to know about eating of chicken and lamb which is available in market or in our officer's mess. Please indicate under the light of Qur’an and Sunnah if it is ḥarām or ḥalāl. I am really worried aboout that.

Answer:

Meat will be Ḥalāl if it is prepared under the Shariah law. That in principle means saying the name of the Almighty and letting the animal's blood to drain out. Of course the meat of the animal itself should be Ḥalāl (e.g. not pork).

We are also allowed to eat from the meat that is made based on the Sharī'ah that is practiced by Isralites, on this basis Kosher meat will be Ḥalāl for us.

In…

Read More

Kosher

Is it allowed for Muslims to use Kosher meat? Second query is about the fast food service of McDonald Burgers and Burger King series of restaurants who are American based restaurants but they are also selling their food products in Pakistan and other Islamic countries. Do you know what type of meat they are providing? I am in Germany, and we Muslims do not take any meat item from such places.

Answer:

Kosher meat is Halāl as it fulfils the requirements of Islam which are basically two:

1. Allah’s name should be taken on the slaughtered animal

2. It should be slaughtered through the jugular vein so that all the blood is poured out.

Eating meat from fast food restaurants should only be done in case it is known that these restaurants sell Halāl food, otherwise they should be avoided. In Pakistan, they serve Halāl meat. I am not certain…

Read More

Wudu After Eating Camel Meat

Why is it that you have to make wuduh after eating camel meat?

Answer:

The following Hadith is presented to prove that it is necessary for us to perform wudo after eating camel meat.

Al-Barā b. Azib narrates that the Prophet (peace be upon him) was asked about camel meat. The Prophet (peace be upon him) said: Perform wudu’ after eating it". He was asked about mutton and said: "Do not perform wudu’ after eating it". [Sunan al-Tirmidhî (81) and Sunan Abî Dâwûd (184)]

The majority Muslims scholars do not…

Read More

Selling Pork And Non-Zabiha Meat

Are we allowed to sell Non-Zabiha meat including pork? I am trying to open a restaurant in which there will be Non-Zabiha chicken and meat, may be pig too. I am not sure of the legality of the act. Please confirm if this is halal.

Answer:

How can you promote and sell something to others that yourself consider to be bad?

What God has made Haram, is Haram for the whole human being not just for the followers of His religion. As the followers of the religion of God, we should not contribute in consumption of Haram.

There could be some flexibility in this if you were saying that you were only a member of staff in the place and had…

Read More

Pork Being Forbidden In Christianity

A friend of mine says pork was prohibited in the Old Testament, but keep reading, changes happen in new Testament.

God gave Peter a vision in which He declared all formerly unclean animals clean (Acts 10:15)

Answer:

You quoted from your friend: "God gave Peter a vision in which He declared all formerly unclean animals clean (Acts 10:15)"

I quote the relevant parts from the book of Acts so that the whole picture can be seen, I am replacing the parts that are not relevant with dots but obviously you can check the entire message yourself if you prefer:

Acts 10:

11 He (i.e. Peter) saw heaven opened and something like a large sheet being…

Read More

Vegetarianism

Can a Muslim be a vegetarian?

Answer:

I am sorry I do not know what you mean by being vegetarian. If it is merely not eating meat that is ok. If it is to believe that eating the flesh of animals is immoral and we do not have any right to do that then it would go against the direct commands of God.



Read More

Stunning Before Slaughtering

I live in Canada, where there are many ways to slaughter an animal here.

1. Some halal distributors use an automated process for slaughtering chicken. The process is as follows. First chicken is stunned but however still alive (this is a Canadian law and there is no way around it) b. Second chicken process through a conveyor belt where a circular knife cuts its neck partially, meaning only cutting the jugular vein. As slaughtering is in process and tape recorder is constantly reciting takbeer. Is this meat halal?

2. Almost all non-halal distributors use the same process as above for slaughtering chicken minus the recitation of takbeer.

3. I have hindu friends from Pakistan and India both. My Pakistani hindu friend always buys halal meat from the local grocery shop. I know this for the fact, am I allowed to eat the food he offers me. Why is this meat not halal on us, I have seen in Pakistan that majority of people slaughtering chicken in Pakistan don’t even say takbeer and sometimes they will be cursing at the street peddlers while cutting the chickens neck. Please kindly tell me the reasoning behind it. Also in today’s world it is not feasible to use a non-automated process to slaughter animal. Also the whole intent of these slaughtering plants is to kill the chicken so they are eaten by human beings.

Answer:

The main principles to appreciate are as follows:

1. Blood needs to be drained out of animal when slaughtering, this is primarily for our physical well being

2. God's name should be mentioned, this is a spiritual aspect of it, whereby we are in fact asking God's permission to kill what he has created.

The second condition can only be relaxed if the person who does not say the Name is a faithful person who would mention the…

Read More

Serving Non-halal Food

I got a job as a cook at a pizza restaurant. The problem is that besides non-halal beef, I have to cook with pork as well. Is the earning halal? I personally don't think so and am really worried about what to do?

Answer:

We believe that your concern is really commendable. However, you do not need to leave the job. We are not allowed to eat pork. We naturally dislike serving or cooking it. But we have to earn a living and when we do not have any other job we can do such things. I would ask you to keep doing the job. Your intentions are known to Allah. He will bless you for your concern and…

Read More

Regarding Eatables

I appreciate your answers very much. Presently I have some practical questions and need their answers. We live in UK and here all the eatables contain some gelatine (wheat /pork/beef/meat) in them. Examples of such food include ice-cream, biscuits, medicine etc. My questions in this regard follow:


1) If we don’t know whether the ice-cream has gelatin or not what should we do? Sometimes the management also does not know about them.
2) My wife bought medicine for lactation for my two months old son. We came to know that the shell of cod liver oil tablets contains gelatin in the ingredient. What should we do now? Origin of Gelatin is not mentioned.
3) What about Mcdonald's fish Burger? Can we eat that or not?

Answer:

There are overall two ways of looking at the issue of gelatin:

One is to consider it to be originally from what that was included in the directives of the Qur'an about Zabiha and about sine. If we accept this view then we need to look at different conditions where gelatin might be from swine or from a non-Zabiha animal.

The other way is to consider the fact that gelatin, being from swine…

Read More

Cannibalism

I would be grateful if you could enlighten us on the subject of cannibalism and Islam.

Answer:

Islam has not made a comprehensive list of edibles which are prohibited to consume simply because human nature (if not perverted) instinctively knows what to eat and what not to eat. The innate guidance Islam provides human beings in this regard is enough to show them the way. As per this inborn instinctive guidance eating human flesh is something which is a detestable and abhorrent practice.



Read More

Aftaar Prepared By A Non-Muslim

Is there any religious hindrance in appointing a Hindu maid to help in preparing iftar during Ramadan? Please guide according to the Islamic stance on the matter of eating with non-Muslims.

Answer:

There is absolutely no problem with allowing a non-Muslim (no matter his/her faith might be) to prepare Iftaar during the month of Ramadan.

Eating with a non-Muslim is not an issue that needs a religious guidance. As long as we are sure that the food is what we (as Muslim) are allowed to consume, eating it with a non-Muslim or having it made by non-Muslim is not an issue.



Read More

Permissibility Of Eating Chicken From Non-Halal Restaurants

I live in Pittsburgh, USA with my family. My question is regarding the permissibility of eating chicken from non-halal restaurants here. There is a severe shortfall of halal-restaurants here in Pittsburgh. Most of the Muslim community generally does not mind eating chicken from places like McDonalds which are not halal. The Imam at our local mosque claims that since chicken is not a haram item, you are allowed to eat it from all restaurants. The only alternative we have is having fish or vegetable everyday which is hard to do considering that the items available are very limited. I cannot even take food every day from home since my mother is not well enough to arrange packed meals for me every day. Please advise, is chicken permissible given the context of non-availability of halal food and limited availability of vegetables and fish items?

Answer:

I find it strange that Halal meet is not easily available in your place, however I have to base my answer on the information given in your answer.

You write Halal restaurants are very few in your place. This is the case for many other places in non-Muslim countries but in most of these places there are Halal butchers/suppliers available. This means people will be able to eat Halal meat at least at their home.


Read More

Problems In Obtaining Halal Food

I live in Pittsburgh, USA with my family. My question is regarding the permissibility of eating chicken from non-halal restaurants here. There is a severe shortfall of halal-restaurants here in Pittsburgh. Most of the Muslim community generally does not mind eating chicken from places like McDonalds which are not halal. The Imam at our local mosque claims that since chicken is not a haram item, you are allowed to eat it from all restaurants. The only alternative we have is having fish or vegetable everyday which is hard to do considering that the items available are very limited. I cannot even take food everyday from home since my mother is not well enough to arrange packed meals for me everyday. Is chicken permissible in case of non-availability of halal food and limited availability of vegetables and fish items?

Answer:

I find it strange that Halal meet is not easily available in your place, however I have to base my answer on the information given in your answer.

You wrote Halal restaurants are very few in your place. This is the case for many other places in non-Muslim countries but in most of these places there are Halal butchers/suppliers available. This means people will be able to eat Halal meat at least at their home.

If…

Read More

Benefits Of Eating Harisa

I have read the following hadith in an article: "Why do not you eat "harisa?" There is the strength of forty men in this dish!" (Nasa'i)” I want to know the ingredients & recipe of Harisa with special context to the Prophet(PBUH) time.

Answer:

All the variants of the ḥadīth about harisa and its merits are extremely unreliable. Therefore, it would not be proper to ascribe them to the Prophet (sws).

I would like you to appreciate that the Prophetic sayings regarding medicine are not part of the divine guidance. These only refer to the available knowledge in this field that the Prophet earned from his experience or learned from his elders. Therefore, we need not follow the prescriptions attributed…

Read More

Is Alcohol Forbidden?

Is alcohol forbidden? Please elaborate.

There are doubts about the prohibition of alcohol.

Answer:

I do not understand the reason about the doubts. Alcohol is one of the worst evils. It totally destroys the drinker’s capacity of thought and intellect. It vilifies the mind. Therefore Allah, on the peoples’ asking forbade it, denouncing it as a Satanic vile. This should remove any doubt about its prohibition. The term haraam has acquired a legal status in our society. Therefore, people deem a mention of it necessary while talking of something…

Read More

Is Drinking Haram?

1- The Holy Qur'an tells us to "stay away" from alcohol. No where it says it is "haram". Whey then it is declared haram by the Muslims?

2- No where does the Qur'an command us to "stone" the adulters. The only command that is found in the Book is to flog them with a 100 lashes. Why then the adulterers and adultereresses are stoned to death?

Answer:

1. The holy Qur'an does not always call something haram that it intends to prohibit. It uses other styles of expression. Sometimes a thing is already known as forbidden even through the innate guidance the humans enjoy. The Qur'an merely refers to that. For example you wouold not find the Qur'an talking on the evil of falsehood, treachery or the gooness of tuth, mercifulness etc. The prohibition of intoxicants (not the substance called alcohol) lies…

Read More