Carmine

Question

I have a query regarding an ingredient called, Carmine/Red lake 4/E 120/Cl 75470 status, as to whether it is halaal or haraam.

This constituent is extracted from a dead insect, cochineal bug. It is present in many items containing red food coloring to makeup brands many which bear the label "no animal ingredients". I found out that even many strawberry flavored products like yoghurts contained it.

Kindly, Clear the status of this ingredient so that I and the Muslims know whether to avoid it or not.


Answer

It is not possible for us to declare insects haram as there is no basis for this conclusion. It is also not obligatory to consume every living thing after slaughtering it. Locusts are not slaughtered but consumed. Therefore, it would not be safe to declare the use and consumption of Carmine.

About the Author

Answered by this author