Eating Flesh Of Animals Feeding On Haram

Question

If the feed of a halal animals (cow, goat etc.) comprises haram ingredients; does it make the animal haram?


Answer

I am not sure what exactly you mean by comprising haram ingredients. In any case, if you mean for example a cow eating haram food, then this does not make the meat of the cow haram because the cow digests the food and this digestion includes chemical procedures that totally change the nature of what was eaten. The only exception that I can think of at this time is if a cow that somehow becomes meat eater (note, this is different with accidentally or exceptionally eating meat). This basically takes the cow out from what we normally define as 'cow' and enters the animal into the definition of carnivores which then makes it haram for eating.

About the Author

Answered by this author